Sending the Crowds Away

Matthew 14:13 packs in a lot more than one might expect from a snippet of narrative writing.

What jumps out at you? I’ll answer for myself: my first response is to laugh at how believable it is. Let’s recreate the scene, but with some details changed.

“Now Mom felt overwhelmed by everything, and withdrew to her room for a good cry; and when her children noticed that her door was closed, they invaded her room and began demanding Band-Aids and asking her to help make crafts and saying they didn’t understand their math assignments.”

Other people (not just offspring) certainly provide us with the opportunity to be like Jesus, don’t they? When we read on to see how He handled the neediness of those intruding on His quiet time, we find that He was moved with compassion; He healed the sick; and He fed over 5,000 people with a few loaves and fishes. Despite His grief over John’s death, Jesus put His needs aside.

At first glance, this WWJD scenario seems discouraging; my first inclination, after all, is to rail against such “intrusions.” God, I think, you know how much I needed this. Why didn’t you keep the children at bay for just a little while longer?

Matthew 14 answers my complaint in two important ways. Number one: my primary task is to obey God, serving others out of compassion rooted in His love.

Number two: I need to trust Him.

See, the part we don’t usually remember after the feeding of the 5,000 is this:

“Immediately He made the disciples get into the boat and go ahead of Him…After He had sent the crowds away, He went up on the mountain by Himself to pray; and when it was evening, He was there alone.” (Matt. 14:22-23)

When I actually pay attention, I realize that God knows I need that rest. (Of course He does!) I’ve written before about the importance of looking back at the ways God has worked in our lives, and this area should be part of that reflection. When I’m tempted to conclude that God has finally left me stranded, all I need to do is look back. So many times, He has reassured me of His love and care by providing unexpected respites just when I felt on the verge of breaking.

Eventually, He sends the crowds away. And in those first blessed moments of solitude, He reminds me that trusting in His loving care…and simply obeying Him amid that trust…is always the best thing to do.

Leave a comment